Pacific Northwest Numismatic Association

This is an archival page on the legacy PNNA website.
Please visit the new PNNA website for the current menu.

PNNA Home / Exhibits / Awards  

PNNA Best of Show Award Winners, 1960 to date

Year Convention City Grand Award C.E. “Hepp” Heppner
1960 Salem, OR Robert J. Barkley    
1961 Spokane, WA Roy Ceil
1962 Seattle, WA Clarence W. Zaar
1963 Walla Walla, WA C. C. Saeman
1964 Portland, OR C. C. Saeman
1965 Yakama, WA {Not awarded}
1966 Seattle, WA {Not awarded}
1967 (No convention)
1968 Spokane, WA George C. Gilkison
1969 Eugene, OR Don Crawford
1970 Seattle, WA Irene Alexander
1971 (No convention)
1972 Vancouver, WA {Not awarded}
1973 Spokane, WA Richard E. Beach
1974 Seattle, WA Joseph E. Boling
1975 Pasco, WA Joseph E. Boling
1976 Seattle, WA T. H. Fleming
1977 Longview / Kelso, WA Thomas D. Harris
1978 North Vancouver, B.C. Margaret A. Sweeten
1979 Spokane, WA Thomas D. Harris
1980 Bellingham, WA Albert Westerhof
1981 Pasco, WA John Patrick Young T. O. McCann
1982 Seattle, WA Thomas D. Harris Nina H. Caldwell
1983-1984 (No convention)  
1985 Seattle, WA Albert Westerhof T. O. McCann  
1986 Bellevue, WA T. O. McCann Joseph E. Boling
1987 Yakima, WA T. O. McCann T. O. McCann
1988 Bellevue, WA Dick Watt T. O. McCann
Year Convention City Byron F. Johnson Jr.
Memorial Award
C.E. “Hepp” Heppner
Del Cushing (People's
Choice) Award
1989 Bellevue, WA Dick Watt Tom Sheehan  
1990-1991 (No local convention due to ANA convention in Seattle.)  
1992 Seattle, WA Tom Sheehan T. O. McCann  
1993 T. O. McCann T. O. McCann
1994 Ellis Corets T. O. McCann
1995 Portland, OR John Patrick Young {Not awarded}
1996 T. O. McCann T. O. McCann
1997 {Not awarded} {Not awarded}
1998 Robert K. Myles Robert K. Myles
1999 Rob Retz J. Eric Holcomb
2000 Kenneth R. Hill J. Eric Holcomb
2001 Tukwila, WA Kenneth R. Hill J. Eric Holcomb
2002 Kenneth R. Hill J. Eric Holcomb
2003 Kenneth R. Hill Susan Billings
2004 Steve Cox Kenneth R. Hill
2005 J. Eric Holcomb J. Eric Holcomb
2006 Ellis Corets Ellis Corets
2007 {Not awarded} {Not awarded}
2008 Gerald R. Williams Del Cushing
2009 Steve Cox {Not awarded}
2010 Tom Sparks {Not awarded}
2011 James Reinders Katie Reinders
2012 James Reinders Dan Vornbrock
2013 Thomas A. Tullis {Not awarded}
2014 Charmy Harker Charmy Harker
2015 Gawain O'Connor Dan Vornbrock
2016 Thomas A. Tullis Anthony Kalt  
2017 Thomas A. Tullis Tom Sparks
2018 Thomas A. Tullis {Not awarded}
2019 James Reinders Gawain O'Connor James Reinders
2020 No convention
2021 No spring convention / No competitive exhibits at fall show
2022 Tony Kalt Tony Kalt Tony Kalt
2023 No competitive exhibits at spring convention


  • The Grand Award was renamed the Byron F. Johnson Jr. Memorial Award after Byron’s death.
    See Byron F. Johnson's numismatic biography.
  • The C.E. “Hep” Heppner Award is given for the best exhibit of tokens, medals and decorations.
  • Beginning in 2019, the spring convention "People's Choice" exhibit award has been added to this list of winners, and is named the "Del Cushing Memorial Award."
  • Awards for 2022 were decided at the fall coin show due to cancellation of exhibits at the spring convention.
  • Awards for 2023 may also be decided at the fall coin show due to having noncompetitive exhibits only at the spring convention.