Pacific Northwest Numismatic Association

This is an archival page on the legacy PNNA website.
Please visit the new PNNA website for the current menu.

PNNA Home / Exhibits / Reports / 2011
See list of past best of show exhibit award winners, 1960 to date.

Exhibit Results at the 2011 PNNA Convention

(When a class is omitted, there were no entries in that class.)

Class 1 — United States and Canadian Coins
1st Place — Thomas A Tullis – The 1936 Cleveland Centennial /
Great Lakes Exposition Commemorative Half Dollar.

2nd Place — Jeff Adolphson – World War II Tribute.

Class 3 — Tokens, Medals and Decorations
1st Place & Byron F. Johnson Memorial (Best of Show) Award — James Reinders –
Small "3" Change for the West Indies.

Class 4 — World Coins and Paper Money
1st Place — James Reinders – A Swedish 3 Daler Copper Plate from the Nicobar Wreck.
2nd Place — Gawain O'Connor – Squire Wood's Lamentation on the Refusal of His Halfpence.

Class 5 — General or Specialized
1st Place — James Reinders – Minting Errors: Three Strikes and other Three Errors.

(First and last of six cases shown)
Class 6 — Pacific Northwest Numismatic Material
1st Place & C.E. Heppner Award (Tokens, Medals, and Decorations) — Katie Reinders –
Happy Birthday Oregon: A Collection of 1959 medals and tokens
issued in celebration of the Oregon Statehood Centennial.

Judges: Del Cushing, Tom Sheehan, Joe Boling.
Chief Judge: Eric Holcomb.
Exhibit Chairman: Dan Vornbrock.

2011 Convention Exhibit Report

See above for the results of this year’s competitive displays. There were also three non-competitive exhibits displayed, by James Reinders, judge Tom Sheehan, and chief judge J. Eric Holcomb.

Note: Normally the winner of Class 3 would receive the Heppner Award for tokens, medals and decorations, however in this case it was determined that the Class 3 winning exhibit consisted mostly of cut coins (but which the chief judge allowed in Class 3), so the Heppner Award was given to the Class 6 winner instead. Since Katie is James' daughter, it was hard to object to this decision!

Congratulations to all the winners. They will receive award plaques for their entries. Thank you to the judges listed above, to Eric Holcomb for serving as Chief Judge, and to Dan Vornbrock for serving as Exhibit Chairman for the first time this year. Their work was very much appreciated.