Pacific Northwest Numismatic Association

This is an archival page on the legacy PNNA website.
Please visit the new PNNA website for the current menu.

PNNA Home / Exhibits / Reports / 2017
See list of past best of show exhibit award winners, 1960 to date.

Exhibit Results at the 2017 PNNA Convention

Class 1 — United States and Canadian Coins
1st Place & Best YN Exhibit — Benjamin M. – Beautiful Beavers.
2nd Place & People's Choice Award — Scott McClaine – Which U.S. cent is in your pocket?

Class 2 — United States and Canadian Paper Money
1st Place & Byron F. Johnson Memorial (Best of Show) Award — Thomas Tullis
– Spotlight on Signatures: A Display of Series of 1902 National Currency /
Regarding the Signatures of Local Bank Officials.

Class 3 — Tokens, Medals and Decorations
1st Place (and 2nd Best of Show) & C.E. “Hepp” Heppner (Best Token & Medal) Award —
Tom Sparks – Trust in the Lord and Keep Your Powder Dry.
2nd Place (and 3rd Best of Show) — Anthony Kalt – O.P.A. - WWII Rationing.

Class 4 — World Coins and Paper Money
1st Place — Alexander M. – Our Feathered Friends.

Class 5 — General or Specialized
1st Place — Tom Sparks – The Short Snorter Project: Lt. John Paul Benson / United States Army Air Corps /
World War II Journey of a Short Snorter (also Gerald Ford and Frank Sinatra signed snorters).

2nd Place — Truus Lagerman – Crowned Cats.

Class 6 — Pacific Northwest Numismatic Material
1st Place — Anthony Kalt – Community Currency.

Judges: Danny Bisgaard, James Reinders, Tom Sheehan.
Chief Judge: Eric Holcomb.
Exhibit Chairman: Dan Vornbrock.

2017 Convention Exhibit Report

See above for the results of this year’s competitive displays. There were nine competitive exhibits in 20 cases, and at least one exhibit in all six classes! Thanks to all the exhibitors! In addition, there was a three-case non-competitive display of the PNNA travelling exhibit of U.S. type coins.

Congratulations to all the winners. They will receive award plaques for their entries. Thank you to the judges listed above, to Eric Holcomb for serving as Chief Judge, and to Dan Vornbrock for serving as Exhibit Chairman again this year. Their work was very much appreciated.